Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies Generator website Archaeology Bemerkenswelt :: DESERT KITES :: Sahara

OPEN KITES IN THE SAHARA

 
   
Across the Sahara you find kite-like game traps that look the same and even resemble those in the Sinai and the Negev. Was there a cultural connection?

Nothing was known of kites in the Sahara until August 2018, when a team of Italian archaeologists documented some in the Libyan Northern Sahara: See Publication. Inspired by this to search, I also found the remains of old game traps in the centre of the Sahara in August 2019 while flying over Algeria. After that, more and more finds followed and today my collection stretches from Libya down to Mauritania and into the north-east of Mali.

Bild "SAHARA:antiquity-120px.jpg" The world's first scientific study of kites and kite-like game traps in the Central and Western Sahara has now been published in the renowned Antiquity Journal by Cambridge Press.

This work by a group of French archaeologists around the known kite researcher Olivier Barge was done in cooperation with archaeology.bemerkenswelt.de and is based on my finds from the last three years.


Goto Photo Gallerys:

KITES IN LIBYA
KITES IN CENTRAL SAHARA

KITES IN WESTERN SAHARA
KITES IN MALI


Bild "SAHARA:Desert-Kites_Sahara-Saudi_Arabien_02.jpg"
These kites in Algeria and Saudi Arabia are 4,000 kilometres apart and yet look very similar. Pure coincidence, or was there a connection?

 
   
The kites found so far in the Sahara differ from the  desert kites of the Middle East in that they lack the central collecting enclosure. Relatively short guide fences lead here in a funnel shape directly to one or more small catch boxes. See in Google Maps >


Download placemarks of about 1.100 Sahara kites >




< Yemen

Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies Generator Archaeologie Bemerkenswelt :: DESERT KITES :: Sahara

KITES IN DER SAHARA

 
   
Quer durch die Sahara findet man Kites, die gleich aussehen und sogar denen auf dem Sinai und im Negev ähneln. Gab es eine kulturelle Verbindung?

Von Kites in der Sahara war nichts bekannt, bis im August 2018 von einem italienischen Archäologenteam einige in der Libyschen Nordsahara dokumentiert wurden: Siehe Veröffentlichung. Dadurch zur Suche angeregt, fand ich ich im August 2019 beim überfliegen von Algerien auch im Zentrum der Sahara die Reste alter Kites. Danach folgten immer mehr Funde und heute reicht meine Sammlung von Sahara-Kites von Libyen bis hinunter nach Mauretanien und in den Nordosten von Mali hinein.

Bild "SAHARA:antiquity-120px.jpg" Im renommierten Archäologie Journal Antiquity der Cambridge Press ist jetzt die weltweit erste wissenschaftliche Untersuchung von Kites und Kite-ähnlichen Wildfallen in der Zentral- und Westsahara erschienen.
Diese Arbeit einer Gruppe Französischer Archäologen rund um den angesehenen Kite-Forscher Olivier Barge entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit archaeologie.bemerkenswelt.de und basiert auf meinen Funden der letzten drei Jahre.


Zu den Fotogalerien:

KITES IN LIBYEN
KITES IN DER ZENTRAL-SAHARA

KITES IN DER WEST-SAHARA
KITES IN MALI


Bild "SAHARA:Desert-Kites_Sahara-Saudi_Arabien_02.jpg"
Diese Kites in Algerien und Saudi Arabien sind 4.000 Kilometer voneinander entfernt und sehen sich trotzdem sehr ähnlich. Reiner Zufall, oder gab es eine Verbindung?

 
   
Die bisher gefundenen Kites in der Sahara unterscheiden sich von den großen Desert Kites des Nahen Ostens dadurch, dass ihnen das zentrale Sammelgehege fehlt. Relativ kurze Leitzäune führen hier trichterförmig direkt auf eine oder mehrere kleine Fangboxen zu. In Google Maps öffnen >



Download Placemarks von rund 1.100 Sahara-Kites >




< Jemen