Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies Generator website Archaeology Bemerkenswelt :: DESERT KITES

DESERT KITES

Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-levante.jpg"
Desert Kites in LEVANT
Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-arabien.jpg"
Desert Kites in ARABIA

Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-jemen.jpg"
Kites in YEMEN
Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-sahara.jpg"
Kites in SAHARA

Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-armenien.jpg"
Desert Kites in ARMENIA
Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-zentralasien.jpg"
Desert Kites in CENTRAL ASIA

In the 1920s, British military pilots were the first to spot these strange shapes from above while flying over the Jordanian desert. Because their shapes resembled children's kites held on strings, they gave them the name Desert Kites.

Desert Kites are large constructions that consist of two long walls converging upon an enclosed space that has on its periphery small stone constructions called cells. For a long time, researchers were not sure what these strange formations were all about. Since the cells are clearly pitfalls, it is now agreed that they were trapping systems for large herds of wild animals.


General information on kites: World History Encyclopedia

Inventory and distribution: Desert Kites et constructions apparentées


To date, around 5,000 of them have been discovered in the Middle East alone. This was made possible by high resolution satellite images from Google Earth and Bing Maps, which became generally available from 2010. Since then, similar structures have also come to light in Armenia and in Central Asia, east of the Caspian Sea. As of 2018, this is also how the first kite-like animal traps were found in the Sahara, which until then had been believed to be kite-free.

Since desert kites have only recently come to the attention of archaeologists, very little is known about them. Dates are still rare, but the oldest date back to around 8,000 BC, while there are indications that they were used until recent times. The kites in Central Asia may even have been in use until the 19th century.

Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies Generator Archaeologie Bemerkenswelt :: DESERT KITES

DESERT KITES –
DIE WÜSTENDRACHEN


Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-levante.jpg"
Desert Kites in der LEVANTE
Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-arabien.jpg"
Desert Kites in ARABIEN

Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-jemen.jpg"
Desert Kites im JEMEN
Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-sahara.jpg"
Desert Kites in der SAHARA

Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-armenien.jpg"
Desert Kites in ARMENIEN
Bild "DESERT KITES:banner-kites-zentralasien.jpg"
Desert Kites in ZENTRAL ASIEN

Britische Militärpiloten waren die Ersten, die in den 1920er Jahren beim Flug über die Jordanische Wüste diese seltsamen Gebilde aus der Höhe erkannten. Weil ihre Formen an Schnüren gehaltenen Kinder-Drachen ähnelten, gaben sie ihnen den Namen Desert Kites = Wüstendrachen.

Diese Desert Kites sind große, oft kilometerlange Konstruktionen die aus zwei langen, niedrigen Wällen bestehen, die trichterförmig auf eine eingezäunte Fläche zusammenlaufen, an deren Peripherie sich kleine steinerne Zellen befinden. Lange waren sich Forscher nicht sicher, was es mit diesen seltsamen Gebilden auf sich hat. Da es sich bei den Zellen eindeutig um Fallgruben handelt, ist man sich Heute einig, dass es sich um Fanganlagen für große Wildtierherden handelt.


Allgemeine Info über Kites: World History Encyclopedia

Bestand und Verbreitung (frz): Desert Kites et constructions apparentées


Bis heute wurden alleine im Nahen Osten rund 5.000 davon entdeckt. Das wurde möglich durch Satellitenbilder aus Google Earth und Bing Maps, die ab 2001 zur allgemeinen Verfügung standen. Ähnliche Strukturen kamen seitdem auch in Armenien und in Zentralasien, östlich des Kaspischen Meeres zum Vorschein. Ab 2018 fand man so auch die ersten Desert Kites in der bis dahin kitefrei geglaubten Sahara.

Da Desert Kites erst seit kurzer Zeit im Blickfeld der Archäologie sind, ist noch sehr wenig über sie bekannt. Erste Datierungen ergeben noch kein klares Bild. Sie reichen von rund 10.000 v. Chr. bis ins Mittelalter. Die Kites in Zentralasien könnten sogar bis in das 19. Jahrhundert hinein in Gebrauch gewesen sein.