Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies Generator website Archaeology Bemerkenswelt :: SAHARA :: Goulets

GOULETS

 
   
This type II goulet in northern Mali is one of the largest, if not the largest, goulet in the Sahara with its 250 m diameter. See in Google Maps >

Goulets are tumulus tombs whose occurrence extends from a high density in the Algerian Central Sahara to Western Sahara. They are mainly concentrated in the mountain massifs around the Tassili N'Ajjer. The first dates so far have shown an age of around 4,500 to 6,500 years.

Goulets are always oriented west-east and are bounded by an oval outer ring. Lengths of 100 meters are not uncommon and some goulets of almost 200 meters in length have even been found. In most cases, this outer ring is open at its eastern end. At its western apex, or very close to it, lies the Tomb Tumulus. From there, two dividing lines form a narrow lane to the east, dividing the oval into two equal horizontal halves. The name Goulet (= French bottleneck) is derived from this narrow lane.

Goulet Type I



Goulet Type II

In addition, a large number of variants can be found, some of which differ greatly in shape from the actual goulet. The tumulus moves from the western end towards the centre and the whole shape becomes more and more rounded. Often, all that is left of the long narrow way is a short, squeezed entrance. Only its opening to the east still betrays its relationship to the goulet. If we place some of these variants next to each other, we can understand that goulets and keyhole tombs are probably related to each other and that one form may have developed from the other.



Goulet western style (Mosca)

Another variant, which looks very similar to Goulet Type I, was named "Mosca" (= Spanish fly) by its Spanish discoverers. Moscas are found only in the western Sahara and are more conical than oval in shape. The two horizontal divisions, forming an alley in the middle, are even closer together here, sometimes even merging into a single line. From above, these monuments look like flies with folded wings.

26.00719,-11.15836
26.00719,-11.15836
23.81637,-7.24907
23.81637,-7.24907
23.68747,-7.38715
23.68747,-7.38715
26.28058,-10.60256
26.28058,-10.60256
26.23386,-10.58606
26.23386,-10.58606
26.49308,4.37958
26.49308,4.37958
  
Images courtesy of Google Earth™

These pictures are only a small selection. All the objects I found are included in the following download (Google Earth required): Download placemarks of about 500 goulets >




< Keyhole tombs

Web
Analytics
Archaeologie Bemerkenswelt :: SAHARA :: Goulets
Suche in Webseite

GOULETS

Goulets sind Tumulus-Gräber die, abgesehen von einigen in der Westsahara, überwiegend in der algerischen Zentralsahara zu finden sind. Sie konzentrieren sich in den Gebirgsmassiven rund um den Tassili N'Ajjer. Erste Datierungen haben bis jetzt Alter von rund 4.500 bis 6.500 Jahren ergeben.

Goulets sind immer in ost-west Richtung orientiert und werden von einem ovalen äußeren Ring begrenzt. Längen von 100 Metern sind dabei keine Seltenheit und vereinzelt wurden sogar Goulets von knapp 200 Metern Länge gefunden. In den meisten Fällen ist dieser äußere Ring an seinem östlichen Ende geöffnet. An seinem westlichen Scheitelpunkt, oder sehr nahe daran, liegt der Grabhügel. Von dort bilden zwei Trennlinien eine schmale Gasse in Richtung Osten, die das Oval in zwei gleiche horizontale Hälften teilt. Von dieser schmalen Gasse ist auch der Name Goulet (= frz. Engpass) abgeleitet.

Goulet klassisch



Goulet Varianten

Darüber hinaus gibt es noch eine große Menge von Varianten, die sich in ihrem Aussehen vom klassischen Goulet zum Teil weit entfernt haben. Der Grabhügel ist in die Mitte gewandert und die ganze Form ist rund geworden. Von dem langen schmalen Weg ist oftmals nur noch ein kurzer, gestauchter Eingang übrig. Nur seine Öffnung in Richtung Osten verrät noch die Verwandschaft zum Goulet. Legt man einige dieser Varianten nebeneinander, dann lässt sich nachvollziehen, dass Goulets und Schlüsselloch-Gäber miteinander verwandt sind und die eine Form sich über Zwischenschritte aus der anderen entwickelt hat.



Mosca

Eine weitere Variante, die dem klassischen Goulet noch sehr ähnlich sieht, wurde von ihren spanischen Entdeckern "Mosca" (= span. Fliege) genannt. Moscas wurden überwiegend in der Westsahara gefunden und haben eine mehr konische, als ovale Form. Die beiden horizontalen Trennungen, die in der Mitte die Gasse bilden, liegen hier noch enger zusammen und sind manchmal sogar zu einer einzigen Linie verschmolzen. So wirken diese Monumente von oben wie Fliegen mit zusammengelegten Flügeln.

Images courtesy of Google Earth™



Download 373 Google Earth Placemarks >




< Schlüsselloch